UEFA has announced plans to discuss a possible review of the rules governing penalty kicks after a contentious decision led to Atletico Madrid's Champions League elimination against city rivals Real Madrid.
During the dramatic penalty shootout in their last-16 tie on Wednesday, Atletico's Julian Alvarez slipped as he took his spot kick. The ball was deemed to have made slight contact with his left foot before being struck by his right, violating Law 14.1 of the International Football Association Board (IFAB) regulations, which prohibits a kicker from touching the ball twice before another player makes contact. The goal was subsequently disallowed following a Video Assistant Referee (VAR) review, preventing Atletico from equalizing the shootout at 2-2. Real Madrid ultimately advanced with a 4-2 victory.
UEFA defended the referee's decision, stating in a Thursday release: "Although minimal, the player made contact with the ball using his standing foot before kicking it. Under the current rule (Laws of the Game, Law 14.1), the VAR had to call the referee, signaling that the goal should be disallowed."
However, in response to the controversy, UEFA also confirmed that it would hold discussions with FIFA and IFAB to assess whether the rule should be adjusted in instances where a double touch is clearly unintentional.
Atletico Madrid, known for their intense rivalry with Real Madrid, did not immediately respond to UEFA’s statement. Coach Diego Simeone expressed his frustration in the post-match press conference, questioning the rare enforcement of the rule in a penalty shootout: "Have you ever seen VAR intervene in a shootout for something like this? If anyone in the stadium clearly saw him touch the ball twice, raise your hand."
Atletico fans echoed their coach’s anger, taking to social media to express outrage, with some branding the decision as "anti-football" and calling for Alvarez to have been granted a retake instead of losing the goal.
The incident has sparked widespread debate about the application of IFAB’s penalty rules, with some football analysts arguing that an unintentional double touch should not result in such a severe penalty. A senior UEFA official confirmed that initial discussions with FIFA and IFAB would be "informal" but could lead to more concrete action in the future.
Real Madrid’s victory secured their spot in the quarter-finals, where they will face Arsenal in April. Meanwhile, Atletico Madrid’s disappointment continues, marking yet another defeat in a European knockout tie against their cross-city rivals.
Featured Image Credit: Pixabay / picselweb, Pexels / Omar Ramadan